Challenge 6 – 52 Days Without Contacts

Part of me feels that this is not a real challenge, but at the same time I think it is a necessary one.  I wear contact lenses every day.  I have been needing eye correction since I was 10, that is 29 years now.  But I have always hated wearing glasses.  My parents allowed me to wear contacts from the age of 18 and since then glasses have been what I wear at home only, and actually only for a very short time every day, before my shower in the morning and just before going to bed at night.

Although it is obvious that my eyes could do with some days “resting” from wearing contacts, it is something I had avoided for years.  But I am now trying to be reasonable and will challenge myself to have at least one day per week where I will wear my glasses instead of contacts.  This should be achievable when I spend the weekend at home.  But with some of the other challenges that will start at some point, I may have to be “out” 7 days a week, even if for just a few hours during the weekend.  Which means I will have to plan / decide whether it would be better to be seen with glasses by my colleagues or walk in the rain with glasses…  Dilemma, dilemma!  Let’s try to remember the additional benefit of this: as I am currently on daily contacts, not wearing them once a week will save me almost two months worth of contacts!  😉

For this challenge, despite the title, I will count the number of weeks when I have at least one day off contacts rather than the actual number of days.

 

One thought on “Challenge 6 – 52 Days Without Contacts

Leave a comment