52 Challenges 2015 – Weekly Update 4

Here is this week’s summary:

  1. 52 Week Money Saving Challenge – £8 put aside this week for a total of £36.
  2. Read 52 books in 52 weeks – I finished The Children of Men by P.D. James. Way better than the movie of the same name! It is actually because I did not like the film that I wanted to read the original novel. I am now reading The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton.
  3. Declutter 52 items – I sent the book The Children of Men out to a fellow bookcrosser.
  4. 52 Weeks Decluttering My Inbox – my inboxes are empty and I spent some time clearing old emails.
  5. Watch 52 movies from the “1001” list – I watched 4 movies this week – after the feast of last week, I feel like I have had an overdose and have not even bothered taping all the movies I originally wanted to watch!

Slumdog Millionaire – such an inspiring movie, though re-watching it made me think that it is very Westernised. Always love the Bollywood bit at the end – and as I do not normally really enjoy Bollywood movies, it is another proof that the movie was aimed at Western audiences…

Forrest Gump – had only seen it once before and had found it overrated, but I did enjoy it this time. And I was very surprised to see Haley Joel Osment (The 6th Sense) at the end of it! That is one of the things that makes me enjoy re-watching older movies!

The Searchers – and another cowboy movie… so many on the list! But quite enjoyable!

Total Recall – that took me back a few years! I have not seen the new version and I’m happy about it. There is nothing like those sci-fi movies from the 80-90s. Women hairdos and special effects, gotta love them! The special effects are actually pretty good, the most hilarious ones are the pressure effect ones – nothing like bulging eyes!  🙂

In-between typing this update I watched Bambi – not on the 1001 list – hadn’t seen it in probably 30-35 years and oh my, what a re-discovery!  I remembered parts of it, but not that it is so amazingly cute, funny and educational! I fell completely in love with it and laughed so much it was ridiculous!  🙂

  1. 52 Days Without Contacts – one day wearing my glasses this week.
  2. 52 Weeks Updating Blog – see this post!
  3. 52 Weeks To Drink Water – drank a glass of plain water five days this week – managed to keep up with last week. Trying to make it a real habit!
  4. Try 52 recipes – tried one new recipe this week: pasta puttanesca, it was ok. Nothing transcending, but low calorie!
  5. Finish 52 items in cross-stitch – I finished the cross stitch for a friend’s baby’s birth… over a year ago… It is going in the post tomorrow! Photos here.

Another couple of pictures from my book-tree:

DSC01249 DSC01251

That’s all for now – wishing everyone a lovely week!

Leave a comment