52 Challenges 2015 – Weekly Update 5

Not a great week in terms of overall progress. Found it difficult to focus on a lot of the things I was planning to achieve due to the events in France and mental state. Anyway, there are some updates despite all, so there we go:

  1. 52 Week Money Saving Challenge – £9 put aside this week for a total of £45.
  2. Read 52 books in 52 weeks – Didn’t spend much time reading, still into The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton.
  3. Declutter 52 items – nothing this week on this front.
  4. 52 Weeks Decluttering My Inbox –empty inboxes and spent an hour on old emails.
  5. Watch 52 movies from the “1001” list – surprisingly I managed to watch 5 movies from the list over the weekend.
    • Clueless – as stupid as it may be, it was still very funny and cute. Yes, I feel lonely and am craving stupid chick flicks…
    • Beverly Hills Cop – somehow I remembered it less serious than it is. Of course it is funny, but it is not all just silly. Obviously been a very long time since I last saw it. And enjoyed it actually, even though I am no big Eddie Murphy fan.
    • Clerks – I had never heard of this movie before, and it is probably not for everyone. I personally thought that a couple of scenes might go a bit too far, but overall it was a good laugh.
    • Pinocchio – oh wow! Another one taking me back to my childhood (wasn’t born when it came out though…). Simply loved it.
    • Frenzy – funny how with some movies, you never remember the ending and are surprised by it every single time! I must have last watched the DVD two years ago and yet I still thought it would end differently. It looks its age, mainly because of the hairdos, but it’s still tense and the theme is sadly still current – I still laugh at the sticking tongues though… as inappropriate as it may be!
  6. 52 Days Without Contacts – one day wearing my glasses this week.
  7. 52 Weeks Updating Blog – see this post!
  8. 52 Weeks To Drink Water – drank at least one glass of plain water every day this week. Will try and repeat next week before increasing the volume per day. Note: I do not take into account any water drunk during or after exercising.
  9. Try 52 recipes – no new recipe tried this week.  I have actually not cooked at all… Sandwiches and pizzas have been the basis of my diet this week (plus leftovers from the pasta cooked last week).
  10. Finish 52 items in cross-stitch – Nothing on this front at all.
  11. 52 weeks to lose 10.1kg – that’s quite an epic fail for the first week… Put 0.5kg on… It would not have been unexpected based on the fact that I ate a lot of cake (that I was asked to bake and then hardly anyone ate any of it… was not going to let it go to waste!) and a lot of cheese, and a lot of chocolate as I wanted to eat as much of what I had left from the holidays as possible, so as to avoid future temptations. What just made this weight gain completely unexpected is that I had an MOT at the gym on Friday and even with my clothes on, their scale showed a weight 4 kg lighter than mine! And despite all I have had, I don’t think I ate 4 kg worth of food in two days! So this is a major blow because our scales are completely different. I guess next time I’ll weigh myself when coming home from an MOT, at least I won’t expect any miracles at the end of the week!
  12. 52 weeks exercising – exercised 4 times this week.
    • Monday, I had an induction, was shown the various machines and what we do on them (gym-virgin), stayed on and exercised for about 25 min
    • Tuesday, exercised for about 30 min
    • Friday, exercised 25 min after my MOT
    • Saturday, had an appointment to design a programme for me, which is a bit more intensive than what I had done on my own, despite the fact that it is still very basic…  My programme includes the following:
      • Warm up on the bike – 5-10 min at the speed and level I choose
      • Leg press – 4 sets of 12-15
      • Chest press – 3 sets of 10
      • Shoulder press – 3 sets of 10
      • Seated row – 3 sets of 10
      • Lateral pull down – 3 sets of 10
      • Leg raises – 3 sets of 10-15
      • Plank – 3 times 30sec-1min
      • Cross-trainer – 20 min at level 4 at a speed of 8.0
    • What I actually did: 7½min B, 4×15 LP, 3×10 CP, 3×10 SP, 3×10 SR, 3×10 LPD, 3×10 LR, 3x30sec P, 13min level 2 CT – my legs could not follow at that point so I stopped. Hopefully will get better next time.

Another thing I want to start focusing on seriously is having a clear schedule for my cleaning and sticking to it. This will require some better planning to manage it around the evenings at the gym as I know myself better than to expect any chores to be completed after exercising (at least until I’m more used to it!).

That’s all folks – hope you are well and happy!

Leave a comment